Daily Archives: September 9, 2010

FSA’s Fine for Goldman Sachs – What Do You Call A Timid Tap On the Wrist?

As reported by Marketwatch:

Wanted: Lloyd 'Smallfine'

FSA’s fine is less than a slap on the wrist: Goldman Sachs’ fines in both the UK & US represent roughly 7% of earnings this year and 4% of last year’s profits. Goldman shares were
not only up nearly 2% in morning trading on Thursday, they’re up 14%
since the end of June.

Share on Facebook

Share

Judging the CIM’s Women in Marketing Awards

Having the honour of judging the inagural Chartered Institute of Marketing’s Women In Marketing Awards, I strongly encourage you to enter if you are a female marketer working on campaigns directed at women and are based in Greater London.  It’s a fantastic way to raise your profile, rightly gain recognition for your achievements and build your brand.

The inspiration behind The Women in Marketing Awards

After five years of annual events, the Women in Marketing Awards was the next logical step and it also coincides with the 100th year of International Women’s Day.   Ade Onilude, Event Organiser, shares what inspired her to create the awards:

I take inspiration from various facets:  On a very personal level, the awards pay homage to my late mother who I lost at a young age; she was a true visionary who knew no boundaries.  My father and brother have been truly supportive in encouraging me to ‘reach for the stars.’  I’ve also been inspired by my work environment at Swarovski where I’ve been honoured to meet true visionaries and innovators.  I take inspiration from the famous such as Michelle Obama, the late Anita Roddick, Audrey Hepburn, Women’s magazines and cult TV series such as Sex in the City.
Finally I’ve been inspired by the amazing women I’ve met since conception of the Women in Marketing event in 2004. From the team who represent the various branches of the Greater London Region, to the speakers and distinguished guests we’ve had over the 5 events. My greatest inspiration has been the attendees – some who have become friends, so launching the awards is for them.

Why Should You Enter?

It’s your chance to be recognised as a member of the Marketing community.  You can put yourself forward or nominate someone who’s inspired you. Have a look at the Women in Marketing Awards website to find out about the categories and how to enter – the deadline is Thursday, 23 September.

I’ll be joining the winners who will be announced at a glam red-carpet ceremony on Wednesday, 3 November at the May Fair Hotel in London. You can attend even if you’ve not entered the awards. Here’s a brochure for more information about the Awards, and hope to get your entry – good luck!